Bildband Gelsenkirchen abseits des Fußballs

Photo book Gelsenkirchen away from football


Gelsenkirchen abseits des Fussballs. Fotobuch von Thomas KlingbergPhoto book about Gelsenkirchen

Under the title “Gelsenkirchen abseits des Fußballs” (Gelsenkirchen away from football), documentary photographer Thomas Klingberg publishes a photo book that shows an unvarnished, unadorned and idiosyncratic picture of the city in the heart of the Ruhr region, away from football, which plays a very dominant role in people’s everyday lives and strongly contributes to the identification of Gelsenkirchen. Even beyond the Emscher, Gelsenkirchen is inevitably associated with football, the Schalke Arena and, above all, FC Schalke 04. But what does life, everyday life, look like away from football? Klingberg wants to answer this question pictorially with his publication and highlights the “affectionate brittle charm” and the “morbid photographic beauty” of Gelsenkirchen with his 118 black-and-white photographs. In addition to “lyrical peripheral events”, street scenes and still lifes, the publication also includes very close portraits. The photographs were taken between 2012 and 2018.

Fleeting encounters and intimate portraits

The photo book does not have a classical, formal photo-documentary claim that questions, for example, thematically outlined aspects of the city’s social life. The viewers encounter the content of the photographs rather by chance, as if they were taking a walk through the city, unfamiliar with the place, letting themselves drift without having a specific goal, similar to Klingberg’s photo book DANZIG.

Less random, however, are the portraits. These were usually taken as part of photo projects and, because of their stylisation, seem less fleeting than the street scenes taken “out of the blue”, even though nothing can be learned about the people themselves. Nevertheless, the people in the portraits, some of which are very close, appear to the viewer as good friends or old acquaintances. At the very least, they are people from the neighbourhood whom one has passed by before and whose faces one remembers.

People from next door

If you are looking for dilapidated industrial ruins or illuminated industrial culture in this photo book, you won’t find it. Klingberg has deliberately refrained from depicting post-industrial Ruhr Valley romanticism in an elaborately processed digi-look. The visual language is simple. Little technology, much content. The photographer shows people harvesting potatoes, young people jumping off a bridge into the canal, neighbours, friends, drug addicts, drunkards, pictures of a special wedding, dementia patients, illegal sprayers, children in a youth home and a passport picture series that has a sad background. Moreover, this photo book clearly shows the diversity of the city that has grown over the decades.

Auswahl von Fotografien aus dem Bildband Gelsenkirchen abseits des Fussballs

.

Order Gelsenkirchen away from football:

Gelsenkirchen away from football
118 black and white photographs
124 pages on 170g photo paper, matt
Printed and published by epubli GmbH, Berlin
Hardcover
Language: German
Price: EUR 29,00

The book is available in local bookshops under ISBN: 978-3-748574-31-6.



This article was posted on January 12, 2021




+49 (0)211 99542790

© THOMAS KLINGBERG






Recommended posts




Social documentary photography Photo book Gelsenkirchen
Documentary Photography Between tracks
Urban photography Social photo workshops
Moscow Studies City. Routine. Ecology.

Coming soon: Bildband "Out of the Blue: Gelsenkirchen abseits des Fußballs"


BILDBAND GELSENKIRCHEN ABSEITS DES FUßBALLS

Gelsenkirchen abseits des FussballsUnter dem Titel “Gelsenkirchen abseits des Fußballs” veröffentlicht der Dokumentarfotograf Thomas Klingberg einen Bildband, der ein ungeschminktes, ungeschöntes und eigenwilliges Bild der Stadt im Herzen des Ruhrgebiets zeigt, und zwar abseits des Fußballs, welcher im Alltag der Menschen eine sehr dominierende Rolle einnimmt und stark zur Identifikation Gelsenkirchens beiträgt. Auch jenseits der Emscher wird Gelsenkirchen unabdingbar mit dem Thema Fußball, der Arena auf Schalke und vor allem mit dem FC Schalke 04 in Verbindung gebracht. Wie aber sieht das Leben, der Alltag abseits des Fußballs aus? Diese Frage will Klingberg mit seiner Publikation bildnerisch beantworten und hebt mit seinen 118 Schwarz-Weiß-Fotografien den “liebevollen spröden Charme” und die “morbide fotografische Schönheit” Gelsenkirchens hervor. Neben “lyrischen Randgeschehnissen”, Straßenszenen und Stillleben beinhaltet die Publikation zudem sehr nahe Portraits. Die Fotografien entstanden im Zeitraum zwischen 2012 und 2018.

Der Bildband hat keinen klassisch-formalen fotodokumentarischen Anspruch, der etwa themenumrissene Aspekte des gesellschaftlichen Lebens der Stadt hinterfragt. Den Betrachter*innen begegnen die Inhalte der Fotografien eher zufällig, so, als ob sie einen ortsunkundigen Spaziergang durch die Stadt machen, sich treiben lassend, ohne ein bestimmtes Ziel zu haben, ähnlich wie auch schon bei Klingbergs Bildband → DANZIG.

Weniger zufällig sind jedoch die Portraits. Diese sind in der Regel im Rahmen von Fotoprojekten entstanden und wirken aufgrund der Stilisierung weniger flüchtig als die “aus heiterem Himmel” entstandenen Straßenszenen, wenn auch über die Personen selbst nichts zu erfahren ist. Dennoch begegnen die Menschen auf den teilweise sehr nahen Portraits den Betrachter*innen als gute Freunde oder alte Bekannte. Zumindest aber als Menschen aus der Nachbarschaft, an denen man schon einmal vorbeigegangen ist und an deren Gesichter man sich erinnert.

Wer in dem Bildband nach verfallenen Industrieruinen oder illuminierter Industriekultur sucht, der wird nicht  fündig. Auf die Darstellung postindustrieller Ruhrpott-Romantik in aufwendig bearbeitetem Digi-Look hat Klingberg bewusst verzichtet. Die Bildsprache ist schlicht. Wenig Technik, viel Inhalt. Der Fotograf zeigt Menschen bei der Kartoffelernte, Jugendliche, die von einer Brücke in den Kanal springen, Nachbarn, Freunde, Drogenabhängige, Trinker, Bilder einer besonderen Hochzeit, Demenzpatienten, illegale Sprayer, Kinder in einem Jugendheim und eine Passbildserie, die einen traurigen Hintergrund hat.

Gelsenkirchen abseits des Fussballs

Gelsenkirchen abseits des Fußballs
118 Schwarz-Weiß-Fotografien
124 Seiten auf 200g Fotobrilliant-Papier
Hardcover, Fadenbindung
Preis: EUR 29,00

Das Buch ist unter der ISBN: 9783749465491 im lokalen → Buchhandel zu beziehen



Beitrag veröffentlicht am 06.05.2019




+49 (0)30 92100520

© THOMAS KLINGBERG