Ausstellung Gewaltigkeiten in Köln

Four artists show violences

On 29 and 30 October 2022, Bettina Guckler, Claudia Simoné, Daniel Breininger and Thomas Klingberg will present different artistic perspectives on the theme of violence and violent acts in various areas of life in a joint show of works in Cologne’s Südstadt district.

Under the title “Gewaltigkeiten” (Violences), the audience will see a wide variation of different art genres such as print, digital alienation, painting, drawing, documentary and scenic photography as well as poetry. For all the diversity of the art genres, there is one thing they have in common: the violence of artistic expression of content, which includes violence.

Guckler: artistic focus on violence against children

Bettina Guckler from Cologne is an artist who combines painting, graphics, drawing and printing. Under the work titles “Kinder im Visier” (Children in the Sight) and “Warum?” (Why?), she thematises abuse against children. The two series each consist of six works and show, among other things, children’s faces drawn with pastels and oil pastels on paper, reflecting the horror of their experiences. With her works, Guckler makes violence against children visible and gives them a voice. The artist’s intention is that this topic be discussed more intensively by a broad public.

Simoné: Shaping reality through scenic photography

For the Oberhausen artist Claudia Simoné, the focus is on the individual shaping of reality through the genre of scenic photography. She focuses on staged portraits in which she brings out the changeability of people and adds another level of interpretation to the portraits – for example, criticism of the affluent society or the provocative portrayal of people who do not conform to the classical ideal of beauty. The fragility of the supposedly strong also finds space in Simoné’s works, which are shown in the exhibition as a cross-section of her artistic oeuvre.

Breininger: Critical approach to media content

For Daniel Breininger, human perception and our own view of the world are essentially influenced by the media. The Düsseldorf artist places current topics and explosive, media-mediated content at the centre of his work – on the premise that these are always accompanied by a vast amount of commentary, interpretation or subjective additions. Therefore, he adds digital interference effects such as noise or distortions to his classical paintings and drawings. He wants to encourage a critical approach to information. The exhibition shows a selection of his works.

Klingberg: Poverty and Homelessness as Experienced Violence

For the Düsseldorf documentary photographer Thomas Klingberg, poverty and homelessness are forms of experienced violence that play a central role in his work. In addition to social documentary works, other photographs on the exhibition theme are on display. He is also presenting his illustrated book “Gelsenkirchen abseits des Fußballs” (Gelsenkirchen away from football) and the publication “Brüche und AufBrüche” (Breaks and Breaks), in which he portrayed the long-term unemployed in pictures and text with the journalist Frank Menke. In a poem, Klingberg also expresses the violence of love and its creative power.

Opening:

Saturday, 29 October 2022
Admission: 18:00 Uhr / Official opening: 19:00 Uhr
Introduction: Art historian Suria Kassimi
Accompanying musical programme: Sax Soul Brother

Opening hours:

Saturday, 29 October 2022: 18:00 – 22:00 hrs.
Sunday, 30 October 2022: 11:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.

Exhibition venue:

Gallery 0. Mainzer Strasse 37. 50678 Cologne (Südstadt).

Admission is free.

Admission subject to the Corona Pandemic Containment Rules in force at the time.



This article was posted on August 24, 2022




+49 (0)211 99542790

© THOMAS KLINGBERG






Recommended posts




Social documentary photography Photo book Gelsenkirchen
Documentary Photography Between tracks
Urban photography Social photo workshops
Moscow Studies City. Daily life. Ecology.

Ausstellung Gewaltigkeiten in Köln


Vier Kunstschaffende zeigen Gewaltigkeiten

Am 29. und 30. Oktober 2022 präsentieren Bettina Guckler, Claudia Simoné, Daniel Breininger und Thomas Klingberg in einer gemeinsamen Werkschau in der Kölner Südstadt unterschiedliche künstlerische Perspektiven zum Thema Gewaltigkeiten und Gewalttätigkeiten in verschiedenen Lebensbereichen

Unter dem Titel „Gewaltigkeiten“ wird das Publikum eine breite Variation unterschiedlicher Kunst-Genres wie Druck, digitale Verfremdung, Malerei, Zeichnung, dokumentarische und szenische Fotografie sowie Lyrik sehen. Bei aller Unterschiedlichkeit der Kunstrichtungen gibt es eine Gemeinsamkeit: die Gewaltigkeit des künstlerischen Ausdrucks von Inhalten, die auch Gewalttätigkeiten einschließen.

Guckler: Gewalt gegen Kinder künstlerisch im Visier

Die Kölnerin Bettina Guckler ist eine Künstlerin, die Malerei, Grafik, Zeichnung und Druck vereint. Sie thematisiert unter den Werktiteln “Kinder im Visier“ und “Warum?” den Missbrauch an Kindern. Die beiden Serien bestehen aus je sechs Arbeiten und zeigen unter anderem mit Pastellkreiden und Ölpastellen auf Papier gezeichnete Kindergesichter, die den Schrecken ihrer Erfahrungen widerspiegeln. Mit ihren Arbeiten macht Guckler Gewalt gegen Kinder sichtbar und gibt ihnen eine Stimme. Die Intention der Künstlerin dabei ist, dass dieses Thema intensiver in einer breiten Öffentlichkeit diskutiert wird.

Simoné: Gestaltung der Realität durch szenische Fotografie

Für die Oberhausener Künstlerin Claudia Simoné steht die individuelle Gestaltung der Realität durch das Genre der szenischen Fotografie im Mittelpunkt. Sie fokussiert sich auf inszenierte Porträts, in denen sie die Wandelbarkeit von Menschen herausarbeitet und den Bildnissen eine weitere Deutungsebene hinzufügt – etwa Kritik an der Überflussgesellschaft oder die provokative Darstellung von Menschen, die nicht dem klassischen Schönheitsideal entsprechen. Auch die Zerbrechlichkeit des vermeintlich Starken findet Raum in Simonés Werken, die in der Ausstellung einen Querschnitt ihres künstlerischen Schaffens zeigt.

Breininger: Kritischer Umgang mit medialen Inhalten

Für Daniel Breininger sind die menschliche Wahrnehmung und das eigene Weltbild wesentlich durch die Medien beeinflusst. Der Düsseldorfer stellt aktuelle Themen und brisante, medial vermittelte Inhalte ins Zentrum seines Schaffens – unter der Prämisse, dass diese stets einhergehen mit einer Unmenge an Kommentaren, Interpretationen oder subjektiven Ergänzungen. Daher fügt er seinen klassischen Malarbeiten und Zeichnungen digitale Störeffekte wie Rauschen oder Verzerrungen hinzu. Er möchte zu einem kritischen Umgang mit Informationen ermuntern. Die Ausstellung zeigt eine Auswahl seiner Werke.

Klingberg: Armut und Obdachlosigkeit als erlebte Gewalt

Für den Düsseldorfer Dokumentarfotografen Thomas Klingberg sind Armut und Obdachlosigkeit Formen von erlebter Gewalt, die in seiner Arbeit eine zentrale Rolle spielen. Neben sozialdokumentarischen Arbeiten sind weitere Fotografien zum Ausstellungsthema zu sehen. Außerdem präsentiert er seinen Bildband “Gelsenkirchen abseits des Fußballs” und die Publikation “Brüche und AufBrüche”, in der er mit dem Journalisten Frank Menke Langzeitarbeitslose in Bild und Text porträtiert hat. In einem Gedicht bringt Klingberg zudem die Gewaltigkeit der Liebe und ihrer schöpferischen Kraft zum Ausdruck.

Eröffnung:

Samstag, 29. Oktober 2022
Einlass: 18:00 Uhr / Offizielle Eröffnung: 19 Uhr
Einführung: Kunsthistorikerin Suria Kassimi
Musikalisches Begleitprogramm: Sax Soul Brother

Öffnungszeiten:

Samstag, 29. Oktober 2022: 18:00 – 22:00 Uhr
Sonntag, 30. Oktober 2022: 11:00 – 18:00 Uhr

Ausstellungsort:

Galerie 0. Mainzer Straße 37. 50678 Köln (Südstadt).
Der Eintritt ist frei.

Einlass unter Berücksichtigung der zu diesem Zeitpunkt geltenden Regeln zur Eindämmung der Corona-Pandemie.

Beitrag veröffentlicht am 24.08.2022




+49 (0)211 99542790

© THOMAS KLINGBERG






Lesetipps




Sozialdokumentarische Fotografie Bildband Gelsenkirchen
Dokumentarfotografie Zwischen Gleisen
Urbane Fotografie Soziale Fotoworkshops
Moskau Studien Stadt. Alltag. Umwelt.


Bilder